The Central Africa Section celebrates its 50 years

Father Michel Ménard, President of the EMI, visited Africa in January 2018. Accompanied by Brother Vignau (Secretary General of IMS) and Mr Sacheli (IMS operations manager), he took part in the activities of the 50th anniversary of the IMS.

Founded in 1965, the Mutual Assistance Association, in 1967 set up its first two sections in Africa (West Africa section in Abidjan; Central Africa section in Yaoundé).

In Yaoundé, the IMS section operates thanks to the efforts of the Province of the Spiritans and more precisely the person in charge, Father Albert Assamba, supported in the everyday IMS mission by Sister Charo and Sister Marie-Anne.

A hundred communities were present on 19 and 20 January (superiors, bursars, etc. from Cameroon, Gabon, DRC, Chad, Equatorial Guinea, Republic of Congo, CAR, Kenya) to attend the masses, presentations and listen to the speakers. All the activities went very smoothly and were supplemented by meetings between the President Ménard, 1st Secretary of the Apostolic Nuncio and the Conference of Bishops, and by the visit of hospitals (Le Jordan, Saint Martin de Pores).

In his homily, Father Assamba recalled the gospel of the day, about illness, attention and care: “Now Simon’s mother-in-law had gone to bed with fever, and they told Jesus about her straightaway. He went to her, took her by the hand and helped her up. And the fever left her and she began to wait on them.” 

The Father continued thus : “the patient may be the countries in which there is not yet a social security system, and where the IMS appears as Jesus, who helps the bishops and superiors to fulfil their canonical obligation to take care of the health of missionaries and members of the clergy. The patient is also the man or woman of the church or the priest. Jesus represents the IMS who goes to them, takes them by the hand, helps the pastoral worker to get up and to restore their health so they can continue to serve. Because health is our primary physical asset. It is health which allows priests and men and women of the church to fulfil the mission that God has entrusted them with”.

50-ans-section-afrique-DSC0171150-ans-section-afrique-DSC0163850-ans-section-afrique-DSC01565

La Section Afrique centrale fête ses 50 ans

Père Michel Ménard, Président de l’EMI, s’est rendu en Afrique en janvier 2018. Accompagné de Frère VIGNAU (secrétaire Général EMI) et de Monsieur Sacheli (responsable opérations EMI), il a pris part aux activités du 50ème anniversaire de l’EMI.

Née en 1965, l’Association d’Entraide a installé dès 1967 ses deux premières sections en Afrique (section Ouest Afrique à Abidjan ; section Afrique Centrale à Yaoundé).

À Yaoundé, la section EMI fonctionne grâce à la volonté de la Province des Spiritains, précisément le responsable Père Albert Assamba, appuyé dans la mission EMI de tous les jours par Sœur Charo et Sœur Marie-Anne.

Une centaine de collectivités étaient présentes les 19 et 20 janvier 2018 (supérieurs, économes… du Cameroun, Gabon, RDC, Tchad, Guinée Equatoriale, République du Congo, RCA, Kenya) pour assister aux messes, présentations, interventions. Les activités se sont déroulées de manière parfaite et ont été complétées par des rencontres entre le Président Ménard, le 1er secrétaire du nonce apostolique et la Conférence des Evêques ; et par la visite d’hôpitaux (Le Jordan, Saint Martin de Porrès).

Lors de son homélie, Père Assamba a rappelé l’évangile du jour où il est question de maladie, d’attention et de soin : « Or la belle-mère de Simon était au lit, elle avait de la fièvre. Aussitôt, on parla à Jésus de la malade. Jésus s’approcha, la saisit par la main et la fit lever. La fièvre la quitta, et elle les servait ».

Père Assamba a poursuivi ainsi : « La malade peut bien être les Etats dans lesquels il n’existe pas encore de système de sécurité sociale, et où l’EMI apparaît comme Jésus qui aide les évêques et les supérieurs religieux à remplir leur obligation canonique de prendre soin de la santé des missionnaires et des membres du clergé. La malade, c’est aussi le religieux, la religieuse ou le prêtre. Jésus représente l’EMI qui s’approche, saisit par la main, aide l’agent pastoral à se lever et à retrouver sa santé afin de continuer à servir. Car la santé est notre premier capital physique. C’est la santé qui permet au prêtre, religieux et religieuse de remplir la mission que Dieu lui a confiée ».

50-ans-section-afrique-DSC01711    50-ans-section-afrique-DSC01638  50-ans-section-afrique-DSC01565